Contact / Event organiser: 
Ashley van Waes
Non-profit organization

Namati: Innovations in Legal Empowerment

Namati is an international organization that tests the potential of legal empowerment through innovative interventions and research. Through our work, we seek a better understanding of the impacts of legal empowerment and the most effective mechanisms for achieving them. 

Join us online on February 7th to discuss the Practice Guide for Environmental Justice Paralegals and learn how paralegals and communities can use the law to address environmental harms.

Environmental justice experts @kanchikohli@manjumenon, and @meenakshikapoor will discuss how the guide complements the work of environmental groups & will help us to further understand the challenges faced by practitioners in the context of current political and developmental trends.

Don’t miss this opportunity to hear from the authors, ask questions, and continue the fight for environmental justice.


Sign up here for free


9 am Washington DC; 2 pm Freetown; 3 pm Amsterdam; 5 pm Nairobi; 730 pm Delhi; 9 pm Bangkok


In many parts of the world, people are living with the environmental impacts of development. Large scale plantations, mining, urban and industrial development have had profound effects on community access to land, livelihoods and public health. One reason for this is that laws and institutions meant for the protection and governance of the environment and natural resources have remained on paper and governments and corporations fail to comply with them.

The guide uses vivid case stories to draw on the lessons from four years of work done by paralegals in India to assist affected communities to seek legal and administrative remedies in over 150 cases of non-compliance, as well as learnings from colleagues working on these issues in Africa and Asia.


Discover the associated practice guide in the Land Portal's Land Library

Share this page