Local Government Act 1993. | Land Portal

Resource information

Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

This Act, consisting of 351 sections divided into 16 Parts and completed by ten Schedules, divides the State into municipal areas and electoral districts. It establishes a council in each municipal area (names of each council are specified in Schedule 3), provides for functions and powers of such authorities, for their administration and for other matters related to local authorities. It also provides for the establishment of council committees, of a Code of Conduct Panel, Standard Panels, and of controlling authorities.The Act provides for special powers of a council, which include the purchase, acquisition, sale and lease of property.The Act further provides for: elections of mayors, deputy mayors, councilors; petitions, polls and public meetings; financial management of councils; rates and charges; impounding of animals; establishment of the Local Government Board, composition and powers and functions; establishment of a Board of Inquiry to investigate a council, single authority or joint authority; legal proceedings; Council elections; offences; etc.

Implemented by: Local Government (General) Regulations, 2005. (2012-12-01)
Implemented by: Local Government (General) Regulations 2015. (2016-04-13)

Authors and Publishers

Data provider

Geographical focus

Share this page