Association of Southeast Asian Nations | Land Portal
ASEAN logo


Ministry of Foreign Affairs Jakarta
Working languages: 

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

Brunei Darussalam then joined on 7 January 1984, Viet Nam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN.


As set out in the ASEAN Declaration, the aims and purposes of ASEAN are:

  1. To accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region through joint endeavours in the spirit of equality and partnership in order to strengthen the foundation for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian Nations;
  2. To promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law in the relationship among countries of the region and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter;
  3. To promote active collaboration and mutual assistance on matters of common interest in the economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and administrative fields;
  4. To provide assistance to each other in the form of training and research facilities in the educational, professional, technical and administrative spheres;
  5. To collaborate more effectively for the greater utilisation of their agriculture and industries, the expansion of their trade, including the study of the problems of international commodity trade, the improvement of their transportation and communications facilities and the raising of the living standards of their peoples;
  6. To promote Southeast Asian studies; and
  7. To maintain close and beneficial cooperation with existing international and regional organisations with similar aims and purposes, and explore all avenues for even closer cooperation among themselves.

Association of Southeast Asian Nations Resources

Affichez 1 - 5 de 5
Library Resource
Rapports et recherches
août, 2020
Indonésie, Cambodge, Laos, Myanmar, Malaisie, Philippines, Thaïlande, Viet Nam, Asia du sud-est

Forests play a crucial role in the fight against global climate change. The communities that live in and around forests are well-placed to carry out climate change mitigation and adaptation strategies. The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) recognizes that social forestry enables communities to manage forests sustainably. It also helps them deliver on economic, social and environmental goals, including mitigation and adaptation. This has motivated ASEAN leaders to study and understand social forestry’s role in climate change and to strengthen its presence in the region.

Library Resource
Ressources et Outils d'entraînement
avril, 2020
Asia du sud-est

RECOFTC, in partnership with ICRAF, has developed a regional training manual on agroforestry for climate-resilient landscapes with the objective to train future extensionists and practitioners working on agroforestry. To ensure the efficacy of the manual, each training sessions has been tested with a range of audiences at national and international levels. These include mid-level government officers, NGO staff and academics from Thailand, Myanmar and Viet Nam.

Library Resource
Matériels institutionnels et promotionnels
mars, 2020
Asia du sud-est

This toolkit contains presentations from the closing event of the ASEAN-Swiss Partnership on Social Forestry and Climate Change (ASFCC) held at the ASEAN Secretariat in Jakarta, 25-26 February 2020. The toolkit contains the following presentations:

Library Resource
Rapports et recherches
décembre, 2018
Asia du sud-est

Developed by ICRAF as part of the ASFCC program, these guidelines were adopted by AMAF in October 2018 and seek to provide technical support to ASEAN Member States pursuing agroforestry development. 

Library Resource
The ASEAN Guidelines on Promoting Responsible Investment in Food, Agriculture and Forestry
Manuels et directives
mai, 2018

The ASEAN Guidelines on Promoting Responsible Investment in Food, Agriculture and Forestry are part of a broad range of initiatives aimed at ensuring that investments in agriculture meet global standards and promote responsible and sustainable investment. The primary purpose of the Guidelines is to promote investment in food, agriculture and forestry in the ASEAN region that contributes to regional economic development, food and nutrition security, food safety and equitable benefits, as well as the sustainable use of natural resources.

Partagez cette page