Crown Forests Assets Act (No. 99 of 1989). | Land Portal

Informações sobre recurso

Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

This Act, consisting of 5 Parts and three Schedules, provides for the following aspects of forestry assets: management of the Crown’s forest assets; the transfer of those assets while at the same time protecting the claims of Maori under the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975; in the case of successful claims by Maori under that Act, the transfer of Crown forest land to Maori ownership and for payment by the Crown to Maori of compensation; and other incidental matters.It is divided into the following Parts: Crown forest land (I); Crown forestry assets and Crown forestry licences (II); Return of Crown forest land to Maori ownership and compensation (III); Amendments to Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975 (IV); Amendments of other Acts (V). The Schedules are divided as follows: Compensation payable to Maori (1); Maori owned land that is not Crown forest land (2); Initial term of Crown forestry licences (3).Schedule 1: Compensation payable to Maori; Schedule 2: Maori owned land that is not Crown forest land; Schedule 3: Initial term of Crown forestry licences. Interesting provisions as to protective covenants in all Crown forestry licences are contained in sections 18-23.

Autores e editores


The Polynesian Maori reached New Zealand in about A.D. 800. In 1840, their chieftains entered into a compact with Britain, the Treaty of Waitangi, in which they ceded sovereignty to Queen Victoria while retaining territorial rights. That same year, the British began the first organized colonial settlement. A series of land wars between 1843 and 1872 ended with the defeat of the native peoples. The British colony of New Zealand became an independent dominion in 1907 and supported the UK militarily in both world wars.

Provedor de dados

Compartilhe esta página