Title by Registration Act (Cap. 56:50). | Land Portal

Informations sur la ressource

Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

This Act is divided into 13 Parts as follows: Indefeasible certificates of title (1); Bringing lands under Act (2); Titles to Land Assurance Fund (3); Transfer and transmission of land (4); Land tax, mortgages and incumbrances and the sale of incumbered land (Land tax, Mortgages, Incumbrances, Equitable mortgages, Transfer and discharge of mortgages and incumbrances, Sale of incumbered lands or estates, Crop advance warrants) (5); Judgments (6); Caveats (7); Registration and confirmation of qualified and possessory titles (8); Powers and duties of registrars of title and mode of reviewing their decisions (9); Powers of attorney, attestation of instruments, dealing abroad, and married women (10); Forms, solicitors and scales of fees (11); Penalties (12); Miscellaneous (13). The Act is completed by 5 Schedules which contain a series of model forms as well as definitions of terms used and fees.

Implemented by: Title by Registration (Possessory and Qualified Title) Regulations (Cap. 56:50). (1995)
Implemented by: Title by Registration (Confirmation of Title) Rules (Cap. 56:50). (1990)
Amended by: Title by Registration (Amendment) Act (No. 15 of 1993). (1993-12-31)
Amended by: Title by Registration (Amendment) Act (No. 8 of 1998). (1998-12-29)
Amended by: Title by Registration (Amendment) Act, 2015 (No. 18 of 2015). (2015-11-27)

Auteurs et éditeurs


Dominica was the last of the Caribbean islands to be colonized by Europeans due chiefly to the fierce resistance of the native Caribs. France ceded possession to Great Britain in 1763, which colonized the island in 1805. In 1980, two years after independence, Dominica's fortunes improved when a corrupt and tyrannical administration was replaced by that of Mary Eugenia CHARLES, the first female prime minister in the Caribbean, who remained in office for 15 years.

Fournisseur de données

Partagez cette page