University of the South Pacific | Land Portal



The University of the South Pacific, as one of two regional universities in the world, is supported by 12 Pacific Island Countries - Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.  The University graduated its first cohort of 32 students in 1971 and during the intervening years over 44,000 graduates have successfully completed their studies.  Today the university has an enrolment of over 29,000 students studying in all 12 countries.

This regional composition of the staff and students, augmented by colleagues and students from outside the Pacific region, gives the university a healthy diversity of nationalities, religions, cultures, ethnic groups and languages.  This diversity enriches the educational experience at USP and contributes towards lifelong friendships and connections within the region and internationally.

USP since inception has been committed to fulfilling the challenge of providing the highest possible quality of education and research while addressing the changing circumstances and needs of the Pacific region.  While we are pleased to be regarded as a good example of successful regional cooperation and as a respected tertiary education provider, we recognize that we must continue to be a dynamic institution responsive to regional and global developments.



Share this page