Aboriginal Land Regulation 1991. | Land Portal

Resource information

Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

This Regulation provides for the implementation of the Aboriginal land Act 1991. The Regulation is divided into 8 Parts (56 regulations) and is completed by 5 Schedules. Part 2 provides for the incorporation of claims for Aboriginal land, Part 3 deals with land trusts and Parts 4 and 5 specify, respectively, the powers of the Supreme Court on matters related to Aboriginal land and the decision making process for the granting of Aboriginal land. Part 6 regulates appeals to the Appeal Court in matters related to the claiming and granting processes, while Part 7 is dedicated to the determination of mining royalties. Schedules define the areas that can be affected by the Aboriginal Land Act and this Regulation. They cover, respectively, to tidal land that is available State land, available State land that is transferable land, available State land that is claimable land, transferable land that is not claimable land and Aboriginal reserve land.

Implements: Aboriginal Land Act 1991. (2016-05-25)
Repealed by: Aboriginal Land Regulation 2011. (2017-05-05)

Authors and Publishers

Author(s), editor(s), contributor(s): 

Office of the Queensland Parliamentary Counsel

Data provider

Geographical focus

Related categories

Share this page