Planning and Development Act 2004. | Land Portal

Resource information

Date of publication: 
September 2004
Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

This Act provides for: (a) in relation to land development for – (i) the promotion and co-ordination of the orderly and economic use and development of land; (ii) the proper management, development and conservation of natural and man-made resources for the purposes of promoting the social and economic welfare of the community and a better environment; (iii) use of land for public purposes; and (iv) ecologically sustainable development; (b) for the appropriate sharing of responsibility for planning and development between the different levels of government. It also: establishes appropriate institutions, structures and processes to achieve effective planning and development; facilitates inter-agency co-operation in planning and development; encourages appropriate private sector participation in planning and development; safeguards the immediate and long-term public interest in the processes and effects of planning and development.The Act consists of 82 sections divide into 12 Parts: Preliminary (I); Administration (II); Planning (III); Control of development (IV); Continuation of existing uses (V); Special powers (VI); Development by Government (VII); certification of development (VIII); Enforcement (IX); Planning Appeals Tribunal (XI); Compensation (XI); Miscellaneous (XII). Part VA (Land Productivity Enhancement Scheme) is repealed by Act No. 27 of 2013.The Minister shall be in principal responsible for the administration of this Act. There is established a National Planning and Development Commission under section 6. The Commission shall advise the Minister on all matters relating to land use planning and development and make such recommendations as it deems necessary. The Minister shall cause to be prepared, and shall adopt and maintain and keep under regular review a National Development Strategy. There shall be three types of development plans: (a) local plans; (b) action area plans; and (c) subject plans (sect. 14). Subject to this section, a permit authority may agree a planning agreement with any person proposing to develop any land, concerning the development of such land, for the purposes of this Act (sect. 35).

Amended by: Economic and Financial Measures (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2011 (Act No. 2011 of 2011). (2011-07-15)

Authors and Publishers

Author(s), editor(s), contributor(s): 

Judicial Dept


Although known to Arab and Malay sailors as early as the 10th century, Mauritius was first explored by the Portuguese in the 16th century and subsequently settled by the Dutch - who named it in honor of Prince Maurits van NASSAU - in the 17th century. The French assumed control in 1715, developing the island into an important naval base overseeing Indian Ocean trade, and establishing a plantation economy of sugar cane. The British captured the island in 1810, during the Napoleonic Wars.

Data provider

Geographical focus

Related categories

Share this page