Ngāti Pūkenga Claims Settlement Act 2017 (No. 39 of 2017). | Land Portal

Resource information

Date of publication: 
August 2017
Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

The purpose of this Act, consisting of 115 sections, divided into three Parts and completed by four Schedules, is: to record the acknowledgements and apology given by the Crown to Ngāti Pūkenga in the deed of settlement; and to give effect to certain provisions of the deed of settlement that settles the historical claims of Ngāti Pūkenga. Part 1 deals with Preliminary matters, acknowledgements and apology, and settlement of historical claims; Part 2 deals with Cultural redress; and Part 3 deals with Commercial redress.Schedules deal with: Statutory areas (Schedule 1); Cultural redress properties (Schedule 2); Ngā pae maunga: properties jointly vested in fee simple to be administered as reserves (Schedule 3); Notices in relation to RFR land (Schedule 4).

Authors and Publishers

Author(s), editor(s), contributor(s): 

Parliamentary Counsel Office


The Polynesian Maori reached New Zealand in about A.D. 800. In 1840, their chieftains entered into a compact with Britain, the Treaty of Waitangi, in which they ceded sovereignty to Queen Victoria while retaining territorial rights. That same year, the British began the first organized colonial settlement. A series of land wars between 1843 and 1872 ended with the defeat of the native peoples. The British colony of New Zealand became an independent dominion in 1907 and supported the UK militarily in both world wars.

Data provider

Share this page