Taranaki Iwi Claims Settlement Act 2016 (No. 95 of 2016). | Land Portal

Resource information

Date of publication: 
December 2016
Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

The purpose of this Act, consisting of 172 sections, divided into four Parts and completed by three Schedules, is: to record the acknowledgements and apology given by the Crown to Taranaki Iwi in the deed of settlement; and to give effect to certain provisions of the deed of settlement that settles the historical claims of Taranaki Iwi. Part 1 sets out a summary of the historical account, and records the text of the acknowledgements and apology given by the Crown to Taranaki Iwi, as recorded in the deed of settlement; defines terms used in this Act, including key terms such as Taranaki Iwi and historical claims; provides that the settlement of the historical claims is final; provides for the effect of the settlement of the historical claims on the jurisdiction of a court, tribunal, or other judicial body in respect of the historical claims; a consequential amendment to the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975, etc.Part 2 provides for cultural redress, including cultural redress that does not involve the vesting of land, namely: protocols for conservation, fisheries, and taonga tūturu on the terms set out in the documents schedule; a statutory acknowledgement by the Crown of the statements made by Taranaki Iwi of their cultural, historical, spiritual, and traditional association with certain statutory areas and the effect of that acknowledgement, together with deeds of recognition for the specified areas; the provision of official geographic names, etc.Part 3 provides for commercial redress, setting out provisions required to facilitate the transfer of deferred selection properties and for the right of first refusal over specified RFR land. Part 4 provides for matters relating to the re-organisation of the governance structures of Taranaki Iwi, including taxation matters. There 3 Schedules define as follows: the statutory areas to which the statutory acknowledgement relates and those for which deeds of recognition are issued (I); the cultural redress properties (II); sets out provisions that apply to notices given in relation to RFR land (III).

Authors and Publishers

Author(s), editor(s), contributor(s): 

Parliamentary Counsel Office


The Polynesian Maori reached New Zealand in about A.D. 800. In 1840, their chieftains entered into a compact with Britain, the Treaty of Waitangi, in which they ceded sovereignty to Queen Victoria while retaining territorial rights. That same year, the British began the first organized colonial settlement. A series of land wars between 1843 and 1872 ended with the defeat of the native peoples. The British colony of New Zealand became an independent dominion in 1907 and supported the UK militarily in both world wars.

Data provider

Share this page