Belize establishes commission to protect indigenous land rights | Land Portal


Date: January 13, 2016

Source: Fox News Latino

Belizean Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister Vanessa Retreage has officially appointed members of the Toledo Maya Land Rights Commission to implement the Caribbean Court of Justice's consent order for protecting the land rights of indigenous peoples.

Lisel Alamilla, Randall Sheppard and Noreen Fairweather were appointed to the commission, an Attorney General's Office representative told EFE via telephone on Wednesday.

Alamilla will chair the commission, which will establish a structured framework to ensure collaborative consultation and participation of key stakeholders, mainly focusing on 23 villages in Toledo.

The commission was created to comply with the court's orders, which require the government to adopt affirmative measures to identify and protect rights arising from Maya customary land tenure. EFE

Read original article here

Photo source: James Willamor via Flickr/Creative Commons (CC By-NC-ND 2.0). Photo: © James Willamor

Copyright © Source (mentioned above). All rights reserved. The Land Portal distributes materials without the copyright owner’s permission based on the “fair use” doctrine of copyright, meaning that we post news articles for non-commercial, informative purposes. If you are the owner of the article or report and would like it to be removed, please contact us at and we will remove the posting immediately.

Various news items related to land governance are posted on the Land Portal every day by the Land Portal users, from various sources, such as news organizations and other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. The copyright lies with the source of the article; the Land Portal Foundation does not have the legal right to edit or correct the article, nor does the Foundation endorse its content. To make corrections or ask for permission to republish or other authorized use of this material, please contact the copyright holder.

Share this page