Ley Nº 54 - Ley de Desarrollo Agrario | Land Portal

Resource information

Date of publication: 
April 2004
Resource Language: 

This is a general agricultural land law passed in 1997 in Ecuador.

Authors and Publishers

Ecuador Emblem

What is now Ecuador formed part of the northern Inca Empire until the Spanish conquest in 1533. Quito became a seat of Spanish colonial government in 1563 and part of the Viceroyalty of New Granada in 1717. The territories of the Viceroyalty - New Granada (Colombia), Venezuela, and Quito - gained their independence between 1819 and 1822 and formed a federation known as Gran Colombia. When Quito withdrew in 1830, the traditional name was changed in favor of the "Republic of the Equator." Between 1904 and 1942, Ecuador lost territories in a series of conflicts with its neighbors.

Data provider

Share this page