Contact / Event organiser: 
Neil Sorensen, neil.sorensen@landportal.org
Organizations: 
University or Research Institution

The Overseas Development Institute (ODI) is the UK's leading independent think tank on international development and humanitarian issues.

Mission 

Our mission is to inspire and inform policy and practice which lead to the reduction of poverty, the alleviation of suffering and the achievement of sustainable livelihoods in developing countries.

We do this by locking together high quality applied research, practical policy advice, and policy-focused dissemination and debate.

Non-profit organization

About

Land Alliance is a think-and-do tank that tests new approaches to defining and managing rights, shares expertise and best practices globally, and supports groups working to scale the solution of land issues.

We are a new non-profit organization launched in 2014. We are a think-and-do tank focused on resolving land issues to address four critical development challenges:

The Land Portal is a Foundation registered in the Netherlands in 2014.

The vision of the Portal is to improve land governance to benefit those with the most insecure land rights and the greatest vulnerability to landlessness through information and knowledge sharing.

Around the world, insecure property rights prevent families from feeling confident about the future, businesses from investing, and communities from becoming more productive. Hundreds of millions of us lack property security. This makes the world poorer, less free, and less just.

There is a growing recognition of the need for change, but without accurate information, governments, business and civil society can’t understand the nature of the challenge or how to overcome it.

Prindex collects data from around the world on how citizens perceive the security of their rights to land and property. The aim is to inform and enable changes in land and property policy that will make countries more productive and secure places to live.

This webinar will create a basic understanding of how Prindex works and the Prindex team will present results from data collected from 15 countries. It will focus on pathways for using Prindex to propel policy conversations and movement-building for policy reform with the help of panellists from some of the countries.

 

Moderator: Malcolm Childress, Global Land Alliance Co-Director of Prindex

 

Panelists:

  • Joan Kagwanja, Coordinator, Africa Land Policy Center (Invited)
  • Alfred Brownell, Green Advocates (Liberia), Distinguished Scholar Northeastern University Law School (Boston USA), and Scholar Rescue Fund Chair, Beau Biden Foundation 
  • Ibrahima Ka, Doctor of Public Law, Land Specialist, IPAR, Senegal
  • Claudia Mondragon, Director, Land Management Observatory, National University of Honduras. 

Who should participate?

Stakeholders and partners from the countries where Prindex has published data or in which they are currently collecting data are particularly encouragaed to participate. All others are welcome to join in as well.

Prindex has published data for the following 15 countries: Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Ecuador, Honduras, Liberia, Madagascar, Mozambique, Namibia, Peru, Rwanda, Senegal, Thailand, Zambia.

They are currently collecting data in the following countries: Benin, Bolivia, Colombia, Ghana, Jordan, Kenya, Indonesia, Malawi, Mexico, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Tanzania, Uganda, UK, Vietnam.

When is it?

November 28, 2018, 8:30-10:00 AM ET (starts 8:30 AM Washington/Bogotá, 1:30 PM Monrovia/London/Accra, 2:30 PM Lagos, 3:30 PM Cape Town, 4:30 PM Nairobi, 8:30 PM Hanoi)

How do I register?

Register here now

Share this page